Treating People with Kindness

I like the following saying by Prophet Muhammad, may peace be upon him, which I quoted from a post by Saladin:

Do not be people without minds of your own, saying that if others treat you well you will treat them well and that if they do wrong you will do wrong. But (instead) accustom yourselves to do good if people do good and not to do wrong if they do evil.

-Prophet Muhammad (s) as reported in Al-Tirmidhi, Hadith 1325.

I like to treat people with kindness, even to those who hurt me before. If I said something bad about them behind their backs, I remember Allah and I ask Him for forgiveness. The next time I meet them I greet them and say a good thing or two. Then, I feel relieved.

A kind treatment can change people. I have witnessed it. It is great.

Tags: , , , , , ,


